team details:

Team Name: PEERtrainer Holiday Table
Members: 20
Location: Anywhere 00000


Profile: for those of us who are alone for the holidays or looking for some extra support!

Last posted: Monday, May 24, 2010, 11:55 PM

Other Info:

Members profiles:
I'm male, 42, married with 2 children. I am one of the founders of PEERtrainer.

I work from home, infront of the computer all day. Working from home has it's benefits and it's drawbacks too. I feel like I give most of myself to things other than what I should be concentrating on... me... my family. I am married and we have a seven year old.

Weight history--life-long struggles--first in my mind, then in reality. In my teens, I thought I was fat at 135. I wasn't. I first really gained weight in college, up to about 165, which is where I hung during my 20s. Then in my 30s, I had a very stressful job and really packed on the pounds. My highest weight was 242 in 1998. In 1999, I got seriously ill and lost 95 pounds due to illness. After I recovered, weight slowly crept on. I've been back over 200 for most of the decade, pretty much cycling up and down between 212 and 202. The highest weight I've recorded in the past decade was 223 and the lowest 197. When I hit 223 in 2008, I joined Weight Watchers and shed 10 pounds. Then in 2010, after another weight spike, I started following ETL and lost another 10, and I hung out at about 202 with periodic spikes up to 210 or so that I usually reverse in fairly short order. But breaking down below 200 was a real challenge from about age 36 on. In August 2014, I was diagnosed with Hashimoto's Thyroiditis and advised to go gluten-free. I did, and lost 8 pounds in one week and have been hanging out a few pounds under 200 ever since. Still a lot to lose, but this is the longest period in a decade that I've been consistently under 200, so that feels good.

age 51....own a photography studio....3 children - grown - 2 married - 3 grandchildren - married - have elderly what I do but life is crazy....perfectionist.

I am 35 year old, mother of three, one girl and two boys. My oldest is in her late teens, my middle (9yo) has special needs and my youngest is in preschool. I am about 50-60 pounds overweight and shrinking. I don't focus on that too much. I focus on my health. I focus on whatever works for me today. I refuse to feel badly about any of it. I focus on success and improvement. I do the best I can every day and start over every morning.

I work in a field that would benefit by my more slim body. So it would also help my career to lose weight. Also, I'm now (2014) 58years old and would like to have more energy and for the clothes to fit better. I gained 60 pound in 6 months in 1996, and it took me until 2009 to lose 35 of those pounds. From 6/11 to 4/2012, I regained 15 pounds, due to bad eating habits, and lack of energy. I fluctuate too much, and I know I'll never be "thin" , I do want to be healthier and have more energy.

I am 65, a family nurse practitioner, and am enjoying working with the peer training site.

I use to be to fit four or five years ago,I use to exersise three hours everyday,but lately I exersise barely three times a week one hour everyday

I am 35 years old, married and have a son.

I used to be a personal trainer but now I'm fully emerged in a corporate job and grad school. Needless to say, at 35 years old, this is not doing wonders for my waistline. I try to fit in fitness whenever I can, but my success varies. Also, all this sitting (be it at work, at school or trying to read 600 pages a week for school ) is doing nothing for my back... Have learned a lot about my limitations over this first semester and am looking forward to finding a better balance between school, work and me feeling great again (looking great isn't a bad bonus, either!).

I am in my early 50's - professional- grown kids but dogs that feel like kids now- married- I love to cook and realize creating foods is an outlet for me. So trying to step up the exercise and cook more the way I should is my goal now.

I am a 45 year old single woman living in the UK. with her dog called Pickle. I eat emotionaly, overeat and binge eat... am exploring various methods of dealing with food issues etc.... eg CBT, Becks......I am a survivor of abuse and have a couple of mental heatlh challenges. I only bite food!

I am 31, and pregnant with #7, due in March 2010. I have 6 kids, 2 girls and 4 boys ages 10, 9, 7, 5, 3 and 17 months. I have been homeschooling for the past 5 years, but put my kids in school on 12/5/08. I was able to get my act together emotionally, and kind of find myself, and I've recently been able to get up at 5 a.m. to do my scripture study and workout before I send the kids to school. Am starting to homeschool again, though, in 2 weeks, for many reasons. I feel ready for the challenge, break was good, now back to real life. I am trying to not gain back all the progress I made before I got pregnant. I was 138 when I took the test, I'm now 25 weeks and 155, so 17 lbs. so far. I am ready to lose the weight for good, using a 12 step program, and begin getting to my optimum fitness level. I want to be an inspiration for other moms with a bunch of kids. Yes, you too can do it, despite how many kids you have or how many times you've been pregnant and had to deal with insane weight fluctuations. I have been married for 11 years and have a handsome, nutty and nice sweetheart, who enjoys making fart noises with the kids, much to my dismay. He's a dork and a total honey at the same time. Maybe he's just Peter Pan.

RN-- I work the night shift Wife Mom to 3; son, married with new baby; daughter, in college; special needs son in residential treatment. Working towards MSN. Live in Hawaii!

Age 57, single female, truck driver. I lost 2 sizes this year by trying to get 20 grams of fiber into my daily intake and by walking 2 miles, 3 times a week.

- our sponsor -