team details:

Team Name: OAKLAND CA Weight Loss And Fitness Support
Members: 90
Location: OAKLAND, CA 94611



Last posted: Friday, July 19, 2013, 3:56 PM

Other Info:

Members profiles:
I've struggled with food and body stuff forEVER. I just got a wakeup call with a borderline diabetes diagnosis. I already have high blood pressure.

35, 5'6'', 151 lb

I'm a 61 year old male. Teacher - counsellor - therapist. I'm interested in making friends and encouraging others.

I'm 27, and am starting/running a small vegan baking company in the San Francisco Bay Area. I work small side jobs for extra income and go dancing a few times a week.

I'm a 31 year young professional - been on the heavy side most of my life, had a good run 6 years ago and came down to an almost ideal weight but gained it all back very slowly. Looking to stay trim and keep it that way for health reasons. Currently 6'2" and around 250 lbs, mostly in the midsection.

I'm a 29 year old insurance broker from the Bay Area, California.

I am a business owner working hard so I can retire (or maybe change careers) in a few years. I am divorced with a 16 year old . I am in my late 50's. I love to read, garden, play guitar and travel especially if it is in France.

I am middle age healthy single plus size, looking for workout friend too keep on track, 6 foot tall, 275 lbs.

I work A LOT. I am 27 years old and I have always fluctuated in weight. Right now I am at my heaviest which is 30lbs over my "normal" weight and 40lbs over my "ideal" weight.

I'm 30, live in the SF Bay Area with my husband and dog, keep active @ the gym during the week and outdoors on the weekends. Love to hike, ski and bike. Also into jewelry design, wine and traveling.

For the majority of my life I was always in shape and now that is no longer the case. I really started to notice the gain in weight after the birth of my son however it has taken me 5yrs to finally become fed up and ready for a change.

I am 33, currently carrying around 194 lbs on 5'6" frame. I have had chronic pain issues, IBS and depression all of which make it hard for me to stick with working towards weight loss goals.

I am 18. I am a college student at Mills College. I used to be an athlete but stopped playing once college started. I would really like to get back into the shape that i was. My goal weight is between 125 and 130. Im currently at 145.

I am a 35 year old happilly divorced woman. I am 253 pounds and I am going to lose a ton of that weight in six months! Yes! I don't have a car right now and would love an excerise buddy who wants to join 24 hour I will buy the gas so we can go very early morning 6 days a week? Any takers? I am in the Oakland, California Area....

37, married mom of 1, professional.

53, female, married, one son, 30 lbs. overweight, German, in the US since 1994, teacher for French and PE, but not working right now.

I recently graduated from SFState in Creative Writing. I take piano lessons, garden, write, and walk. I love travel. I'm a pretty good cook, a better gourmet, and I love to be around my grandchildren, of which I have five. My two grown children are educated, accomplished and very supportive of everything I do. I am lucky.

I weighed 145 from 20-33, I felt overweight, but wore size 10/12 and I was very active. After starting stressful job in 30s weight creeped to 155, still ok for my height 5'6" and body type, but on the high end for sure. After my first child, I quickly got back down to 155, after my second child I was able to get back to 150 and felt awesome. However, weight came back and I was 168 by the time I was pregnant with my third, and now, 11 months later, I weigh 179. I would like to first get back to 168 and then down to 155. At that point I will evaluate how I feel about myself. I have always been active, but this year I have mostly been walking places, no running or other hard cardio and I find I am the most out of shape in my life. Most noticeably, for the first time I have a belly, which I have never had (expect pregnancy and immediately post partum). I need to curb emotional eating (stress with kids, nighttime eating) as well and reduce stress (meditation and journal would help, but I struggle to do these regularly).

I LOVE to exercise and to be active, I do not eat junk/fast food ... except for an occasional marshmallow bar from Starbucks, and small piece of dark chocolate a couple of times a week.

I am a 60 year old with some autoimmune complications (thyroid, sarcoidosis) and am sure that weight loss will help me feel better.

I am 32 years old and 6 feet tall. The good thing is that when I gain weight, because I am tall, it is not completely noticeable. I have always been a big girl and overweight since a child. However, when I was in grad school, I got down to my smallest size as an adult by doing Taebo 4 days a week and SlimFast. Now that I am working, I have gained almost 50 lbs since then and I just want to get back to my confident, fabulous self I was when I was 50 lbs lighter….and I know I can get there. I am currently on the Medifast program—I began in November 2009. I lost 30 lbs, but since my dad passed in January of 2010, I’ve been holding steady at my current weight. I seem to have hit a block. I am now thinking of stopping Medifast and doing something a little more realistic, such as Weight Watchers and am also thinking of eating raw more days of the week than not.

I am 29-about-to-be-thirty-in-a-month. I recently joined Overeaters Anonymous and want to get my eating under control before I turn 30. I want to lose 50 lbs because I deserve to have my body back. I live with my partner and three kids who all eat very unhealthy.

Busy, but not too busy to cook and hike with my dog.

I'm 19 and I want to get back in shape for the summer

Hey everyone! I'm a 21 year old female. I've been making a lot of excuses for the past 3 years and I'm ready to start holding myself accountable. I've realized that no one/nothing is physically stopping me from reaching my weight loss goals. Now I'm ready to kick ass! I hope that you'll all come and support me in turn I will give back support. I look forward in joining this weight loss journey with you all.

I am a 24 yr old stay at home mother of my 2 yr old son. I absolutely love being a Mom, wouldn't change it for anything. I just don't have the energy to work out when I do have the chance because I would rather sit there and do nothing. AND im a sucker for junk food. I can start a diet, do a little working out here and there. But if someone offers some soda or junk food, I can't say no. I have no self control what-so-ever!

I'm a 60-year-old woman, mostly retired. Have a 31-year-old stepson who really needs to find the love of his life so that he can participate in the conception and birth of my grand-children. Also, have one wayward husband who in 2005 left to live with his girlfriend and is now living on his own and seeing girlfriend # 2. Although I thought I was going to die when he moved out, turns out I didn't and now wouldn't have things any other way--we ended up good friends. I could lose 30 pounds and not miss them one bit. I've always run on the heavy side, but have gained 10 pounds in the past couple of years.

I'm a 27-year-old graduate student studying psychology. I love writing, reading fantasy novels, and mythology.

I'm 30 years old and I want to loose weight to feel comfortable in my own skin and to prepare my body to have a baby.

I am 56 and divorced. I have a grown son and live with a cat work with families and children. I try to eat half raw but not always getting near to this. My down fall is carbs and sweets. "Bread"

50+ Christain, husband, and father... recently diagnosed with diabetes loving somewhat artistic...willing to do whatever I can to cure this dreadful disease..

I've struggled with weight my whole life and have tried virtually every diet. Binge eating at night has always been my struggle. I finally got control over my weight after graduating college, but I still battle with a 15 lb fluctuation. It's MUCH better than years ago (50 lbs off, 60 lbs on....) but I would love to get back to my goal weight. In addition, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia in 1998 and struggle with pain and fatigue. I can work through the pain, but the fatigue gets to me and prevents me from exercising when I need it the most! I want to lose about 10-15 lbs and be in a routine of healthy eating and exercise.

57 years old High School Teacher Swimmer Single - 2 kids

I am a therapist and life coach, a wannabe vegan, but a funtioning pescatarian. I like being active but I have a natural lazy streak that gets the best of me. I also have a sweet tooth and a "good wine tooth". I eat when I'm happy and when I'm sad and when I'm bored. Food just equals fun for me, so I need to work on my enthusiasm!

I'm 22 years old and love learning about nutrition. I am ready to change my body and to become more connected with the foods I choose to eat.

- our sponsor -