team details:

Team Name: Kansas City Weight Loss Team
Members: 77
Location: Lenexa, KS 66219


Profile: Looking for others in the Kansas City area that are serious about motivating eachother to reach our goals.

Last posted: Sunday, September 06, 2015, 9:16 PM

Other Info:

Members profiles:
I am 25 and in love. I want to look back at my wedding photos an not feel like I look like a beached whale. I want to get fit before my wedding.

Too old to do what i enjoy - too young to be slowed down and stopped from doing it.

I lost 70lbs. in 2005, with the help of a great personal trainer and an amazing group of gym friends. I then became a personal trainer in 2006. Then, we moved out of state and my life 'fell apart', as far as physically. I got really 'sick' and over a 9 month period struggled desperately to figure out what was 'wrong'. I finally found a good docotr and was diagnosed with PCOS (polycystic ovarian syndrome) and hypothyroidism and my hormones were just way 'wacked' out! So, here I am trying desperately to lose the 30lbs. I gained last year during all this and am finally back in the gym, after taking almost a year off, and trying to get my life back.

Starting over is tough. Let's hope I am tougher.

I run a daycare 7 days per week, 24 hours per day. I take the kids with me everywhere I go and should get plenty of exercise. But I've been feeling worse and a lot more sedentary lately. So I've been using the mosquitoes as an excuse not to spend any real time outside.

My name is Rebecca. I've lost 237lbs in the past 4 1/2 years, and have about 40 more to go. I've reached a point where I am finding it very difficult to get the rest off, and just need some support.

I NEED to manage my weight for my health. Heart disease runs in my family, and I know by being at a healthy, slim and trim weight, my chances of having a heart attack is reduced.

I’m a 56 year old male. I’ve been married for 31 years to a great woman. About 14 years ago I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis and could hardly walk. I started out at the YMCA doing the range motion in the pool. One day I got on a step machine and got my heart really pumping and realized it made the swelling go down in my joints faster. I was doing that daily and in the late 1990’s started on the new biological argents, Embrel, and within a week I was going twice as far twice as fast. Beings as I had already changed my life style dramatically I keep it up. Today I’m addicted to running. I run about 18 miles a week and do some yoga on recovery days. I need to lose about 14 pounds to be at my ideal weight and have been going up and down 10 pounds for the last couple of years. I hope accountability with help me change my eating pattern.

I am going to be 46, have been married for 25 years to same man. I think we have a content marriage - could use more romance, but that is partly my issue because of my weight and self-image. I have 2 college age daughters, both out of the house, so we are empty nesters now. I am an elementary school teacher.

My name is Brandon. I am 29 years old and attend Cleveland Chiropractic College. I am passionate about health and wellness. As a formal personal trainer, I enjoy talking about almost any exercise or nutrition topic, so feel free to start up a conversation.

I am a working mom of a 4 year old. Since I was pregnant, I now have high blood pressure and would like to lose weight so I can get that better under control. I am also not confident in the way I look! I would like to be a better role model for our daughter. I have an amazing husband who is always supportive of me even though I have been so up and down with weight loss. He always wants for me what makes me happy.

I am married, no children. I work a stressful job with crazy hours.

I am 26 yrs. old and work a very stressful job, unfortunately I ease that stress with food such as chocolate and potato chips.

5 years ago I had a realization that if I continued on the road that i was I would not live long. At that time I was in a job that I hated and had a horrible diet. fast Food...Regula Coke all day...and no excercise. I was 56 in wiast and a 5-4x shirt. Well today I am in a 40-42 waist with a XL shirt. Off all asthma medication and workout daily.

Mother of three; 15 year old son, 11 year old daughter and 9 year old daughter. My husband and I have been married about 4 years. Throughout my life, I have battled weight. I see my parents both retired medically before 50 years of age. I see my youngest daughter already battling her weight, just a little overweight for her age. I have to show my kids that it's possible to lose weight, keep it off, be healthy and live life.

I am a single mother I have a boyfriend though that I met six months ago who I have grown to love. He means the world to me and we tell each other son will be five in june and at this point I am ten pounds less then wha I was the day that I gave birth to my son. I am a full time customer service rep and go to school full time online. For criminal justice I want to be a parole officer.

I am 33 single mom of a 2 year old son. I had gastric bypass surgery in 2005 and lost 206 pounds. After having my son, I have not been able to get this extra weight off. I think I just need some support.

I'm 39 years old, married with a 3 1/2 year old. This is the largest that I've ever been. I had a c-section February 22, 2007. After having our son, I had postpartum depression and didn't have an appetite and I was weighing 177lbs. After my son was 4 months old, the appetite came back and it's been on a roll ever since.

I'm 23 years old momma trying to work of the baby weight. I need to lose 25 lbs get down to my pre-pregnancy weight. I was very thin and fit when I got pregnant. I used to work out every day and everything was good. I want to get back down to my pre-pregnancy weight but having the motivation and discipline to do it is hard. I decided to start today and I decided that I need a support group to help me get this done.

Late 50's I have 3 kids and 4 grandkids I love to decorate homes, garden. Love to live by the water, walk on the beach.

forty-seven years old; father of six; married; changed careers seven years ago and weight immediately increased to 190 and then has steadily increased during last six years to 225 and for the first time I seem to be powerless to reverse this trend

Just turned 40. Divorced. My stats on paper don't look good, but I'm happy, and doing well in most aspects of my life, except my weight.

I lost a hundred pounds a year and a half ago, but have since gained back 30lbs of it. I strive everyday to make good food and fitness choices.

I am a 29 year old unemployed former airline pilot. I am a fairly competitive cyclist in the KC area, but since losing my job and starting to date my girlfriend, I've let my addiction to food get out of control and have stopped working out as much as I used to.

I am a widow for the second time and live in a high rise on the Country Club Plaza, here in KCMO. I have one daughter (only child) 43 who is married to a retired USN aviator. They have two children and currently reside in the Boston area. I am active in the arts, as a producer and benefactor for same in the community. I am currently seeing a very nice gentleman, who is also widowed. I love and cook and entertain and am extremely careful about my calorie intake. I take pride in the way I look and look probably 15 yrs. younger than I am. I avoid the sun (especially on my face) which is way I have very few wrinkles. I am outgoing and love entertaining friends in my home. For twenty-five years I was active in local and national politics and worked the advance teams in Jackson County. Who wants to join me in losing weight and exchange ideas and encourage each other when each of us gets discouraged....especially with the holidays here. Thanks.

I am a foodie that loves to cook and eat. Happy or sad food was my drug of choice but I am working to SHIFT my focus to eat to sustain my bodies needs and work out my feelings by exercise and other activities.

I used to be so naturally athletic and skinny. I could eat whatever I wanted and was a twig. One I had a fast metabolism and two I did sports year round. Now I am in college and have gained a lot of weight because I never learned how to watch my weight. I never had too. I've been working out and eating healthy and working out at least 5 days a week for the last month and have seen no results in scale or measurements. I need some major motivation to keep me going.

- our sponsor -