team details:

Team Name: Martial Arts and Fitness
Members: 32
Location: any 36116

Goals: Get Healthy & Stay Healthy

Profile: Any one interested in and training in martial arts is welcome here. We have a wide range of arts in our group and decided to expand to a team. We are hunting for people who want to keep up with logging and training and Who want good honest feedback from teammates. Plan to post and comment.

Last posted: Monday, July 06, 2015, 12:31 PM

Other Info: The community area has threads for information on martial arts, diet and exercise. Feel free to start new threads.

Members profiles:
My weight has fluctuated quite a bit over the years. I was lean through college, kept there by long distance running. Heavy after I got married, and slimmed down again when my daughter was about 4. In recent years, I kept pretty slim through heavy workouts and lots of martial arts training until knee surgery a year ago. Now I find food allergies making it harder to lose the extra pounds, mainly because I want things that make me feel bad.

I have been practicing karate for over 27 years. I lived in Japan for 5 years and taught karate when I was over there. I ran a karate school in Japan. It was a lot of fun and I was in great shape until I came back to the States. I want to get back into that kind of shape again and possibly open up a karate school of my own. First, I have to get into better shape so I can lead by example. I work as a computer programmer. I spend way too much time in front of a computer and not enough time working out. Motivation. Motivation. Motivation are the three areas I need the most work on.

I'm 37, a full-time working mom of two, trying to lose weight and get fit. Over the years with every major life event I seemed to add another 10 or 20 lbs and got to be 221 lb at my very heaviest, on my way back down now!

I'm 29, married with a 21 month old and a 3 week old. I work in the software industry, and am also working on my Ph.D., therefore I spend a lot of time behind my desk on my computer. I'm Puerto Rican/Cuban and originally from the South Jersey/Philly area, but have lived in Miami for the past 7 years. I have access to a lot of great latin food, so this is going to be a challenge if I don't watch myself :) Luckily my wife is also motivated to get into shape after the baby, so I think with our mutual support and PeerTrainer, I should be cool!

i have spent alot of time in life quitting everything i try, but i am making the biggest change in life the only thing i am going to quit now is smoking. i will update more later. Right now I am in the Army and deployed, with my hectic schedule it makes it hard to eat right and exercize sometimes. nine months down 6 to go on this deployment.

I'm a 40ish wife and mother. I work full-time in addition to raising my family. I'm currently working towards my black belt in Okinawan Kenpo Karate. I work in technology and tend to be a desk jockey during the day.

Running a company and being a family man hasn't left a lot of time for me to dedicate to fitness. I live in New York City and walk to work everyday but that's about all the exercise I get besides carrying around my 9 month old baby boy. But exercise is critical for physical and mental health and I am ready to get back into it!

I've been studying Shaolin Kung Fu for 8 years and Tai Chi for 10 years. I'm 5' 1" and weigh 128. This weight seems to have suddenly come on in the past two months. This can be due to a number of things (holidays + just stopped the Pill after 10 years, which can play with hormones).

Earned my black belt in Kyokushin karate in 1998, and promptly tapered off traing as soon as I got home from Japan. I have recently begun training in Ashihara karate, a Kyokushin offshoot, and realized just how out of shape I'd let myself get...

I live in Perth Australia, and at 42 I realise it's time to lose the spare tyre and the flabby arms and get back into shape. I started boxing when I was 8yo and have always enjoyed the sport along with many other forms of exercise but over the last few years, the good life and a taste for red wine and cigarettes has gotten me into a bad place. I need to drop 10 - 15 kg this year and get back to enjoying all the activities I used to participate in.

Im a 21 yr old single mom. I was heavily into kick boxing and Jujitsu when I was in high school, but do to various circumstances over the last couple years I have stopped training all together. I would like to get back into shape while Im am waiting for the opportunity to get back into a dojo. I also need to quite smoking. I have recently gone from smoking a pack a day to only having 6-10 ciggarettes a day, but would like to cut them out completly real soon.

Just trying to drop this gut I've had since forever basically.

I actively participate in kickboxing. That is why I can't figure out why I am not losing the weight I gained after a great loss and much sadness. I am back on track, exercising 5x/week, and I have completed the Phase I of the Fat Smash Diet, but my weight has not budged!

i'm old but fun and i want my body to match; it's going to have to keep up with me as we enter the 3rd Score, y'know? i want to be fit, flexible, fast and fearless.

I started studying martial arts twenty years ago. I began with Ninjitsu, then studied Tae Kwan Do, Shao Lin Kung Fu, Wu Shu Kung Fu, Capoiera, Kyukido, Judo, and Jujitsu. I am currently working on Aikido, with some Kung Fu/Tai Chi (showy stuff, just for fun) on the side. I teach kids Aikido classes currently. In the last year, I tore my spleen, I separated my shoulder, and I had surgery on one of my wrists. I'm trying to get back into tournament shape for a Kung Fu demo I have this summer, and some intensive multi day martial arts seminars.

Hi, I'm Rosie, I'm a college (junior) student and I want to lose weight. Since being in college Ive gained 30 pounds...actually that happened in half a year...I got into an extremely bad relationship and began eating my emotions away. Now it been hard to kick this habit. I'm trying to stop this downward spiral but I need support. Tough Love. This is kind of hard for me(this website) because I've never been one to ask for help. I'm stubbornly independent, but I want and need a change in my life. Random stuff: I love animals (I want to be a vet) Major: Bio, Minor: Chem I'm a nerd, goofball, helpless romantic When I want to do something, I do it. period.

I'm in my 20's, work in retail, and am trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life. I've had various varieties of your garden-variety eating disorder all my life, and am finally at a place where I want to stop fighting my body. Right now I'm enamoured with yoga, clowning, veggie sushi, punctuation, sunshine, and touching my toes. That'll change.

Active in Martial Arts and love to work out. However I love food and beer too. So I never seem to get ahead!

Throughout growing up I didn't do much besides drink pop play video games and watch tv. I finally sick of being the fat shy kid and now I am pretty fit and have an unmeasurable amount of confidence - which is something I am very proud of! Name of the group PERSEVERANCE comes from a tattoo I have on my left leg. It's a great motivator and keeps me on track. Long story short: I'm a 25 year old male, full-time student, and work two jobs. In my limited spare time I love working out and spending time with my beautiful girlfriend!!

My name is Sarah and I am 18 years old.I love anime, Martial Arts cooking and singing.

I'm a former and still occasional computer professional who owns a golf course / bbq restaurant in the mountains. I'm an ex- college baseball pitcher and tennis player who has never lost my competitive spirit. Now I golf and practice martial arts.

trainee physio, started training capoeira 2 years ago. Love the challenges and rewards it presents to someone who is naturally hugely uncordinated. Oh an I'm 32 (everyone else seems to put their age so thought I'd join in)

- our sponsor -