team details:

Team Name: Coast to Coast
Members: 48
Location: Newbury, MA 01951

Goals: Walk Virtually across Europe. We are going from Copenhagen to Naples! Log your miles weekly to the common thread. get ready for Spring- start walking now!

Profile: Walk with us (virtually) from Copenhagen to Naples Join us anywhere along the way!

Last posted: Tuesday, May 25, 2010, 12:02 AM

Other Info: Any type of exercise can be converted to mileage for the team- treadmill, biking, walking, elliptical, rebounding, skiing, snowshoeing etc. It's fun. We have already gone across the US (LA to Boston) and Australia!

Members profiles:
I've lost almost 30 pounds. ******UPDATE - I've lost almost 40 pounds! 165 to 126. Took almost 3 years. *** Feel free to read my daily notes for tips on using this site, and for other helpful ideas to help you with your weightloss and fitness journey. Let me know your thoughts!

30's, married, 2 kids, run a business. I am really starting to get in shape and it took me a long time to get back.

37 years old. Married Mother of 2 teenagers. Lost a lot of weight before but am slowly putting it back on as I am now a stay at home Mom for the first time in 20 years. Lost all of my motivation to exercise. I am looking for a friendly challenge to help motivate me and keep me motivated

44, F, OR RN

Ten years ago, when I turned 40, I began running marathons. Since that time I've completed 21 of them. In 2005 I lost my job and retreated to the couch (with lots of ice cream). I gained 30 pounds, which I've been lugging around ever since. Fast forward to 2007, I have a great job and life is good. Unfortunately, I am still carrying around these extra 30 pounds. It's time to ditch this "couch" weight and move on.

I am a teacher in Special Education and am currently working on my PhD. I am single with no children, I come from a large family and have lots of neices and nephews. I love to travel, and am generally a happy person with a positive outlook on things. Losing the weight is the final frontier-being free of it will be my proudest accomplishment.

45yr old 15 over, more like 20 but 15 will have me happy

56 and way too fat, borderline BP etc. Literate movie-lover, gardener, beader, like to travel and enjoy fine conversation, exotic places and company of dear friends. Have ridden a 25-50 pound roller coaster all my life in about a five-year cycle. Had major abdominal surgery a couple of years ago immediatley following earning a PhD (12 year plan, school PT while working 1 or more F-T jobs) and losing my last parent. Had post-surgical infection leading to an incisional hernia which makes my big belly even bigger. It has taken me two years to get back to feeling like I can tackle weight and I was at the highest I've ever been. Have lost about 10 pounds but put a LOT back on over the holidays. Really feeling the changes following the hormone crash--less resiliency in muscles and joints, seems slower to build muscle.

i have lost 30 since nov. 04. but this last year it seems i just keep maintaining. I am a daily walker, ussually 2-3 miles.

I am 40 years old. I have 3 girls ranging in age from 4-12. I work full time in sales management and I eat way out way too often - and mostly in my car - something I need to stop. I am tired of being so heavy and I want to promote better habits for my girls. I just want to wear clothes from cute stores!

I am a working professional iage 43, married and have two children ages 6 and 9. I have been successful before at losing weight but have had trouble staying focused and keeping it off. I put my family first which often takes up the time I need for myself to be healthy and fit.

I am a 37 year old male who is in the military and has been in law enforcement. I have always required a high degree of fitness in my life, but I have also fought the battle of the bulge through-out the vast majority of my life. I believe I have the ability to make the changes and help others as well.

A young 57 - Most think i am mid 40's. Weighing in at 170 lbs. Naturally thin until age 42 and it's been all uphill since then.I'm a financial adviser and mortgage broker. Recently moved to Arizona from California.

I'm 33 years old, married to my high school sweetheart, and I'm a SAHM to my 3 sons. We have homeschooled for 7 years and enjoy it very much. We're just your typical American family. We enjoy time together but unfortunately too much of that time is spent being couch potatoes instead of being active together. I'm hoping to change that.

i'm 40 yrs old married w/ 2 kids that are 19 and 20 yrs old. i was always thin. when i turned 35 i blew up past 225lbs. could not get the weight off, never exercised while i was dieting maybe thats why i had trouble losing weight. well last year i starting walking, hated it at first now i love it. i walk 2.5 miles in the morning. i hit plateau's all the time, its very fustrating. but i dont give up. well i started at 225 plus and i went down to 167. but i must of done some midnight munching and went back to 174 as of today. i was very mad at myself, but i will not give up i upped my walking to 2.5 miles in the am and 2.5 miles in the pm. and i am doing some yoga etc.

I am a 27 year old stay at home mom with one child. I do babysit one other child all day!! I have been married for 3 years and currently reside in Canada, but am originally from the Southeast US.

I am a stay at home Mom with 2 girls, 12 and 8. I hit my all time high weitght in Jan (I didn't even weigh that much pregnant) and decided it was time to do something about it. I started the Sonoma Diet and lost 30 lbs. I am now stuck and would like to loose about 7 more lbs.

Turning 55 in August; that doesn't seem possible! I live in a small town in Northeastern Wisconsin and commute 40 miles each way daily to my corporate job in Green Bay (home of the World Champion Green Bay Packers!!). I own my own home and love to read, play Scrabble and work in the garden. I work full time in a corporate environment. 0 kids, 1 cat, lots of friends.

I turned sixty this year which was totally shocking. I used to yoyo about twenty pounds but have stayed within a tighter range in recent years. I have always been athletic, doing what was popular, though never a runner and have dropped the goal of doing a marathon in my lifetime. I stopped cycling for the winter but am still rowing and will continue until it seems crazy to be out. I am a writer and work sporadically. I do ghost writing and fiction projects but am currently hanging out. I feel like an old Momma compared to the others in this group and I hope it is not disheartening to others to hear that the issue of weight control can continue.

I live in south Alabama and I am 26 years old. I need to lose about 100 lbs. I am taking natural supplements. I feel sooo much better since I started taking them! I also sell natural supplements.

I'm 33 and need to lose this extra weight. I don't care what the scale says! I live by how many inches I'm losing!

I am a 52 yr. old reading teacher who has a husband and 3 great children - 2 boys (23 and 21 and a girl 15). I used to run marathons but now i would settle for walking!!

47 veggie empty-nester. I'm a volleyball coach and nursing student. While I can keep up with the kids, it sure doesn't feel as good the next day. I'm fairly active, but tend to stick to the activities that I'm successful and comfortable at, therefore making little progress.

I'm a 30 year old, wife, friend, mother, and business owner. I work 6 days a week, but somehow manage to work out, play with kids, clean house, and spend a little one on one with my hubby. I'm lucky that we are fortunate to work together and have each other to motivate ourselves.

I am 51. My weight has been increasing for the last 15 years. I have been trying to change my lifestyle. In many ways I have succeeded. I need to make better choices when I am dining out and I need to decrease my calorie intake when I am home. I need to motivate myself like I did in the past. My will power has waned over the years.

I'm a married, 37 year old mother of 3 extemly active kids ages 13, 11, and 9. I work full time doing communtiy relations for Juvenile Justice Services and spend the rest of my time chauffering kids, cleaning house, cooking, and doing work for my church. If I have any sparetime I enjoy reading and traveling.

I'm 42 y.o. stay at home, married. Mom of a 4 y.o. girl Actually looking for a job

i am in my 20's, trying to lose about 10 pounds so i can finally fit into my jeans again. i stopped wearing jeans since i gained weight. i also recently became vegetarian and never felt better.

I am 47 years old, work full time, am married second time around to a wonderful man I met online. I have a daughter (22) and a son (21), two stepsons (28 and 25), and two grandsons (4 and 1). I've put on 40+ pounds in the last 5 years and it's not coming off easily.

I'm 53, married, 1 daughter, 2 dogs, 1 cat

I am a 32 year old mother of a 19 month old. I am happily married and tired of missing my pre-pregnancy self!

I've done Weight Watchers successfully in the past. Over the past 2 years I've gone through a divorce and very ugly custody dispute. I find comfort in food and unfortunately that has led to me gaining back half of the weight I lost on Weight Watchers several years ago. I want to eat better (and less).

46 yo single mother of adult son, I have been following WW flex plan for 6 months and have lost 55Lbs!!! In that time I have gone from zero exercise to exercising 6 days a week, I just started interval training for a 5k run, we will see how that goes! MY FIRST 5K...MAY 16TH- RACE FOR THE CURE! Motto is ~one day at a time~ sometimes I need reminded of that but all in all these months have been great and I am embracing this lifestyle change :)

2/24........180............TTL 50 LBS
5/25........167 BUSTED THAT PLATEAU FOR GOOD!!!!!

I live in the Portland metro area. I have been married 5 years and have a 3 year old boy. I am usually active, but need more dedication to reach my goals.

30 something married with 2 kids 6 and 5. Full time job. Used to run atleast for 20 mins 2 - 3 times a week but it became hard to fit it in to daily schedule. When I was running there was no weightloss but lost a lot of inches. Did'nt notice it until I stopped running and the pants became tighter. So now the plan is to start walking at the lunch hour and do yoga in the morning. Hope this will work.

- our sponsor -