team details:

Team Name: Geeks
Members: 32
Location: Anywhere 07675


Profile: A group for all geeks who want to lose some weight, find a healthier lifestyle or even something else!

Last posted: Tuesday, May 25, 2010, 1:57 AM

Other Info:

Members profiles:
Live in Boulder,CO (so many fitt people here) & somehow after moving here I went from 120lbs to 160lbs! My stress level increased and when my now husband moved in our habits (good and bad) didn't mesh right. I used to keep the weight off by dancing. Found swing dancing back in '98 love it (i.e. user name HepCat, corny I know) but since my now husband moved in in 2000 I have been less active, more stressed, and ate horribly so I gained the weight! I've lost some of it in 2006 with the Nourishing Traditions diet approach but I need to exercise. I have a 15 year old son, who through eating right (most of the time) and doing the Nourishing Traditions is in excellent shape & putting me to shame! I also work a 'regular job' while I am trying to two businesses off the ground (my husband & I both are starting different ventures but I'm involved in both). I'm 33 (34 in July), 5'-5", 155 and the mother of a 15 year old boy.

I'm a 20-yr old college student and a geek at heart. I am here to get in shape and develop a healthier lifestyle.

I'm 18, I'll be a freshman in college. I like taking walks outside but in the summer it's too hot here in MO so i'm usually at the local YMCA on the bike. I'm an ovo-lacto vegetarian, and have been since July 17, 2004.

Hey, well hmmm I'm 30 years old, im a workaholic software engineer, although lately i've been thinking about changing careers and becoming a policeman instead. :) Unfortunately... 12 years of being a software engineer hasn't really done me any good in the weight department!!! I'm still quite fit, but I'm carrying more weight than I should do :) I'm currently 6'5 and while that is not likely to change ;) I would like to change the fact that I currently weight in at about 18 stone, which is about 252lbs, which is about twice the weight of my dear old mum :)

I'm a recent music education college graduate with some free time on my hands. I decided to start working out and fixing the things I didn't like since I've got some free time while job hunting. I love music, hockey, skiing, gaming, anime, art, and of course, my wonderful husband and friends. Want to know more? just ask :D

I'm in my late 20's, single, no kids, and recently made a cross-country move from the mid-west. I have a pretty stressful job that keeps me busy 40+ hours a week, and an extremely energetic and needy puppy that wants all my attention. I have a lot of geeky interests like: web design, video games, podcasting, and a million other things that keep me plugged in all the time. I'm also into a lot of artsy things like photography and writing. And I pretty much have no time to pursue any of them.

middle aged geek that needs to lose weight while working a sedentary office job

I'm a college student, yay me. I attend Emerson College in Boston Mass and am an Animation Major and Screenwriting Minor

I desperately want to lose weight and have more energy, find balance and, who knows! Establish World Peace! I have been a systems analyst / analyst/programmer for 26 years. The last 12 have been at one place, the last 7 on a particularly stressful system. Home life is stressful, too - three daughters (22, 19, 17), my mom, my husband. Finances always too tight. I'm tired of being stressed and I'm tired of feeling unattractive and tired of being tired, so I'm going to do something about it starting right now! I love: (in spite of the stress) my family, my dog Shelby, cooking, entertaining and reading. I used to love the beach and swimming, ice-skating, tennis and bike riding, but haven't done any of that in a long long time.

I'm 19 and I am just starting college. I want to be healthy before I am too far away from home. I love music and I am constantly at shows. And I know that losing the weight will help me jump and scream better.

Korean in South Africa, married, 28, QA manager. Hoping to lose the last 8-9kgs. Height: 1.62 cm. Goal weight: 52kg. Starting weight: 58kg

All I do is work, watch anime, read manga, play video games, and surf the Interweb. So not terribly active. Been working on it though.

Never was tiny, but I was fit through my late teens into my mid-20's. I was muscular, 135 lbs. on a 5'4" frame. Office work and a few relocations disrupted my once-loyal gym regimen. I gained 45 lbs., but I also lost muscle tone. Every year I have sworn to get back in shape, but now that I'm 30 it will probably be harder. Enough is enough...This is the year!

I am 47-years-old. I have two podcasts--I never thought that I would ever get people to listen to me but it's really fun and I am getting more listeners all the time, who'd a thunk? I also have mad Photoshop skills and work in a photo lab. I have two beautiful and brilliant daughters--one in college and one in middle school and a sweetheart of a husband who is the perfect man for me. I also perform in a local Rocky Horror cast as Dr. Frank-n-furter, Riff Raff or Magenta (our cast obviously isn't screen-accurate).

Im a writer in NYC. Married on year ago. Have been working at an awful job for a year and a half to support myself and husband who is disabled. Quit this week though Ive not steady wrok lined up. I need to lower the stress in my life.

I am 31, married, and hard working. I like reading, making jewelry, working on the computer and other sedentary activities.

I'm early 30ies, happily married, no kids. Sedentary office job, all the usual stuff to keep the weight on.

I am 35 years old and I live in the middle of nowhere in Pennsylvania, but I am from California. I am married and I have kids... but I feel like some foreign lifeform half the time. I am not a soccer mom, but I am a good mom, no matter how unconventional. I was raised in the art community of the Bay Area, but love rural life. The two are very different. I am very open minded, and I love variety. When I was 18 I did not want to feel trapped into the life that was being planned for me by my mother and her artist friends... what did I do? I joined the Army... where I was an analyst. I went to Defense Language Institute and had a great time. Imagine the daughter of hippies in the army... that is just the kind of thing I do in life. I tend to embrace the road less traveled no matter what my options are... just to experience life and become more of what I am looking for within myself. I stay at home with my kids, but I am not some brain dead idget and hate being treated as one. I love thinking and learning. I talk and write way too much, but do not have any friends locally. It is hard for me to get close to people. My husband is my best friend, and we are both very dependent on that friendship. I like the person I am inside, but am not happy with the outside, been like that most of my life. I want to look in the mirror and feel like I did for a very brief time while I was in the military, I want to say "Wow, I look good".

I'm a 28-year old office worker, knitter, and computer gamer. I went on Jenny Craig with my mom in the summer of '05, and lost about 60 pounds in the first year I was on the program... bringing me to a size I haven't been since Junior High. I've kept going to my weekly check-ins at Jenny, but been less consistent with food and exercise, and have been stalled out, bouncing around within 10 pounds from that point for the last year and a half. I'm glad I haven't gained it back, but getting sick of being stuck where I am when I have at least another 40 pounds I'd like to lose. My husband of almost 6 months and I are headed to a music festival in California over the 4th of July weekend, and I'd like to drop 10 pounds a month between now and then to get to my goal (though right now I'll take *any* movement in the right direction that sticks around for more than a week!)

Software engineer living in Boston. Married for 4 years with no kids (yet). I'm a bit of a foodie an do a lot of cooking.

Hi. I've never been good at describing myself but here it goes. I'm a 23 year old college graduate. I have a BA in English and Classical Civilization as well as a M.A.T. in Teaching. My job search kind of went sour when I had jaw surgery this past August and my estimated recuperation time was 4 - 6 months. I'm still dealing with the pain. I've been overweight since I was 11 but no one quite knows how I gained the weight. I've never been a real overeater, stress eater, comfort eater, or any type of other eater. I also was a big athlete until I got hurt when I was 17. The doctors are a bit mystified. I took a test once to see whether I was a dork/geek/nerd and I got savant because my interests were too high for any one label to take the lead. I read and collect comic books, enjoy far too many video games, love to translate Latin and Greek, and I have a mind that unfortunately is labeled a steel trap. My friend calls me Wikipedia because I can spend hours just reading the encyclopedia and I'll remember a good amount of it too. Okay, no more.

My name is Ruskin, I am Dominican and I am wrapping up an 8 year Marine Corps career, I am 5'11'' and 185 lbs and I like to play video games and reading small articles about anything pretty much collecting knowledge from as many different sources possible. I am also a cook and have won several competitions.

Gay law student who loves to cook, read, and go hiking.

50 years old. Enjoy sedentary activities like sitting at the computer, reading books, and watching TV.

I am a 52 year old professional who has struggled with my weight all of my adult life. :(

- our sponsor -